Skip to main content

High Ground was last night announced as Best Film in the annual Film Critics Circle of Australia Awards for Australian Film, for producers David Jowsey, Maggie Miles, Witiyana Marika, Greer Simpkin, Stephen Maxwell Johnson.

High Ground won in five of the eight categories, while Nitram won in four – with the award for Best Director going to both Stephen Maxwell Johnson for High Ground and Justin Kurzel for Nitram.

High Ground also collected Best Screenplay for Chris AnastassiadesBest Cinematography for Andrew Commis ACS and Best Actor Supporting Role for Sean Mununggur.

The performances in Nitram were praised by the FCCA with Best Actor awarded to Caleb Landry JonesBest Actress to Judy Davis and Best Actress Supporting Role to Essie Davis.

The  2021 Awards was a pared-back version of the full awards, impacted by Covid and lack of sponsorship.

Full list of winners and nominees below.

Best Film

High Ground ***

Producers: David Jowsey, Maggie Miles, Witiyana Marika, Greer Simpkin, Stephen Maxwell Johnson


Producers: Nick Batzias, Virginia Whitwell, Justin Kurzel, Shaun Grant

The Dry

Producers: Bruna Papandrea, Jodi Matterson, Steve Hutensky, Rob Connolly, Eric Bana

Best Director

Stephen Maxwell Johnson, High Ground ***

Justin Kurzel, Nitram ***

Robert Connolly, The Dry

Best Screenplay

Chris Anastassiades, High Ground ***

Robert Connolly & Harry Cripps, The Dry

Shaun Grant, Nitram

Best Cinematography

Andrew Commis ACS, High Ground ***

Sam Chiplin ACS, Penguin Bloom

Stefan Duscio ACS, The Dry

Best Actor

Caleb Landry Jones, Nitram ***

Eric Bana, The Dry

Jacob Junior Nayinggul, High Ground

Best Actress

Judy Davis, Nitram ***

Noni Hazlehurst, June Again

Naomi Watts, Penguin Bloom

Best Actress- Supporting Role

Essie Davis, Nitram ***

Claudia Karvan, June Again

Miranda Tapsell, The Dry

Best Actor Supporting Role

Sean Mununggurr, High Ground ***

Anthony LaPaglia, Nitram

Stephen Hunter, Ruby’s Choice