Skip to main content

Bunya productions Mystery Road Series 2 receives numerous nominations including Best Series for this years 2020 AACTA Awards.

Bunya Producers Greer Simpkin and David Jowsey are thrilled to announce that Mystery Road Season 2 has received a total of 14 AACTA (Australian Academy of Cinema and Television Arts Awards) nominations.

Shot in Western Australia’s picturesque Dampier Peninsular and Broome, Mystery Road Season 2 sees the return of Detective Jay Swan, played by Aaron Pedersen, to take on a grisly case in a new town in order to be closer to his family, but has he left it too late?

Producer Greer Simpkin said, “David Jowsey and I are so proud of Mystery Road and the incredible writers, cast and crew we have been able to work with across the franchise. It is their dedication and craft that has brought the series to life. We are delighted that so many of them from Season 2 have been recognised in this year’s AACTA nominations, including 8 Indigenous creative practitioners. ”

“I congratulate the many standout achievements, including MYSTERY ROAD’S record number of nominations over the past decade – a remarkable result on an outstanding production which is not only cementing the careers of multi-award winning practitioners, but also launching the careers of emerging talent, with many first-time nominations too.” – AACTA CEO Damian Trewhella.

Winners will be announced at the The Australian Academy of Cinema and Television Arts Awards on Monday November 30th.

2020 AACTA Award Nominations

Best Direction in a Television Drama or Comedy

Wayne Blair & Warwick Thornton

Best Screenplay in Television

Kodie Bedford

Best Editing in Television

Nicholas Holmes

Best Production Design in Television

MYSTERY ROAD (Herbert Pinter)

Best Sound in Television

Wes Chew, Luke Mynott, Michael Newton and Trevor Hope

Best Cinematography in Television

Warwick Thornton

Best Drama Series

Bunya Productions, Greer Simpkin and David Jowsey

Best Lead Actor in a TV Drama

Aaron Pedersen

Best Lead Actress in a TV Drama

Jada Alberts

Best Guest or Supporting Actor in a TV drama

Callan Mulvey and Rob Collins

Best Guest or Supporting Actress in a TV drama

Ngaire Pigram and Tasma Walton

To see the full list of nominations visit the AACTA website.