Skip to main content

Mystery Road wins AACTA award for Best Drama Series… and more!


Mystery Road Season 2 has won the AACTA Award for Best Drama Series at the 2020 AACTA Awards in Sydney on November 30 with the award presented by Academy Award-winning filmmaker Taika Waititi. With a total of 14 nominations this year, the Mystery Road franchise, including Ivan Sen’s features Mystery Road and Goldstone and the two television series, holds the record number of AACTA nominations from over the past decade.

On the same day it was announced that Mystery Road Season 2 was the highest rated Australian Drama of the year. 

In her AACTA acceptance speech producer Greer Simpkin said “It was announced yesterday that Mystery Road was the highest rated Australian Drama of the year on Australian TV but also one of the highest rating shows on the ABC and I just want to say people do want to watch Australian stories. I urge the government and streamers and broadcasters to push for Australian stories to be told. The Australian creative industry will not let you down.”

Meanwhile internationally Mystery Road is making tidal waves with Season 2 making the New York Times list for BEST TV SHOWS OF 2020 saying it is “An outback police procedural with an incantatory feel, powered by the performances of Aaron Pedersen, Tasma Walton and, in Season 2, Jada Alberts and graced by the hallucinatory landscapes of northwestern Australia.”