Skip to main content

Bunya has received 21 AACTA Award nominations

Greer Simpkin and David Jowsey’s Bunya Productions has received a total of 21 AACTA Award nominations across two productions – the series Mystery Road the feature film Sweet Country.

Sweet Country has received 10 nominations including Best Film, Best Screenplay and Best Cinematography with Warwick Thornton nominated for Best Direction and Hamilton Morris nominated for Best Lead Actor and Natassia Gorey-Furber for Best Supporting Actress. The feature starring Sam Neill and Bryan Brown has previously been recognised with the Special Jury Prize at the Venice Film Festival 2017 and the Platform Prize at the Toronto International Film Festival the same year. It has also received Best Feature at the 2017 Asia Pacific Screen Awards.

Mystery Road The Series has received 11 nominations including Best Drama Series, Best Screenplay and Best Cinematography with Rachel Perkins nominated for Best Direction in a Television Drama or Comedy, and Aaron Pedersen, Judy Davis, Wayne Blair, Deborah Mailman and Tasma Walton all nominated for their outstanding roles.

Upon the nominations announcement Greer Simpkin and David Jowsey said: “We are so happy that people really enjoyed both Sweet Countryand Mystery Road – but when our peers nominate the two shows for 21 AACTAS that’s just so special. A massive thank you to all the talented artists both in front and behind the camera who have helped make our latest film and television series – we are proud to call you our collaborators and our friends.”